The AI Tools for Education Index
Pricing, privacy and educator ratings across every AI tool listed on AI Educator Tools, counted from the live directory and refreshed every month.
By Dan Fitzpatrick, teacher, AI education specialist and bestselling author. Last updated .
As of 5 October 2026, AI Educator Tools lists 138 AI tools for education. 92 of them (67%) are free or have a free plan. 63 declare GDPR compliance, 38 declare FERPA compliance and 34 declare COPPA compliance, while 45 have not published their privacy details to us. Educators have left 495 reviews across 49 tools.
How we count: every figure on this page comes from the public listings in our directory on 5 October 2026. Compliance and data-handling answers are declared by each company and are not a legal certification. 36 tools also have an independent privacy and security assessment by 9ine. Always check a vendor's own documentation and your own data protection rules before you buy.
Pricing: most AI tools for teachers have a free way in
Of the 138 tools, 13 are free, 79 are freemium (a free plan with paid upgrades), 31 are paid only and 14 ask schools to contact sales for a price. 1 listing gives no pricing model.
38 tools also carry an offer for educators on their listing.
Privacy: what AI education companies declare
These are the answers companies give on their listings. A blank answer is a useful signal in itself: ask the vendor before any pupil data is involved.
- GDPR: 63 declare compliance, 21 say it is in progress, 9 say no and 45 have not said.
- FERPA: 38 declare compliance, 50 say it does not apply to them, 5 say no and 45 have not said.
- COPPA: 34 declare compliance, 52 say it does not apply to them, 7 say no and 45 have not said.
- Student data: 50 collect student data, 43 say they do not and 45 have not said.
- Deleting data: 68 let schools delete their data, 24 do so on request, 1 does not and 45 have not said.
- Sharing with third parties: 6 say they share data, 38 say they do not and 94 have not said.
Where AI education tools host data
Declared hosting locations: United States 41, European Union 20, United Kingdom 18, Australia 5, Canada 2, Singapore 1, Vietnam 1, global or split by region 2, not stated 48. If your school needs data kept in the UK or EU, filter on this before you shortlist.
Minimum ages
Declared minimum user ages: 18 and over 28, 16 and over 4, 13 and over 27, 8 and over 8, 6 and over 2, 4 and over 5, no minimum 19, not stated 45. A tool with an 18 and over limit is meant for staff, not pupils.
What the tools are for
Most tools fit more than one category, so these add up to more than the total.
- Assessment and Grading: 58 tools
- Lesson Planning and Resource Creation: 53 tools
- Tutoring and Personalised Learning: 50 tools
- Student Engagement and Gamification: 43 tools
- Writing, Feedback and Academic Integrity: 42 tools
- Collaboration and Communication: 35 tools
- Special Education and Accessibility: 29 tools
- School Administration and Safety: 27 tools
- Presentations, Design and Media: 18 tools
Educator reviews
Educators have written 495 reviews across 49 tools. The median rating among reviewed tools is 4.7 out of 5. Reviews come from signed-in educators and are moderated against vendor astroturfing.
Frequently asked questions
How many AI tools for education are there?
No one can count the whole market, but AI Educator Tools lists 138 AI tools built for or widely used in education as of 5 October 2026, each with pricing, privacy details and educator reviews.
How many AI tools for teachers are free?
13 of the 138 tools in our directory are free and 79 are freemium, so 92 (67%) can be used without paying.
Are AI tools for schools GDPR and FERPA compliant?
63 of 138 listed tools declare GDPR compliance and 38 declare FERPA compliance. These are company declarations, not certifications, and 45 tools have not published privacy details, so ask vendors for their data protection documents.
Where do AI education tools store student data?
Among tools that say, the United States is most common (41), followed by the European Union (20) and the United Kingdom (18). 48 tools do not state a hosting location.
Compare the tools behind these numbers
Filter every listing by price, subject, age group and privacy details, and read what other educators say.